IEEE Computer Security Group Honors ISI Cyberdefense Expert

June 11, 2010

The IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy celebrated its 30th anniversary in May and Terry Benzel received a Computer Security Award for Continuing Service.

Founded in 1979, the IEEE Computer Society's Technical Committee on Security and Privacy holds the symposium annually, distributing awards at each.

"While many things in the world of computing and networking have changed since [the first conference in] 1980, this conference continues to be the premier forum for researchers to present and discuss the latest developments in computer security and electronic privacy," noted a paper from the proceedings.

Benzel, who came to ISI in 2003, serves as deputy director of the Institute's Networks Division. She is also co-director and one of the organizers of DETER(cyber-DEfense Technology Experimental Research laboratory Testbed), which maintains a secure computer facility in which malware can be studied and defenses found. She has been working in the area of computer security for decades.

The event and the presentations attracted substantial coverage in news media nationally and internationally, collected on the event's press page

Immediately following the symposium, representatives from NSF, DHS, and other agencies made presentations on new US Federal cybersecurity R&D themes that will guide future Federal research activities and solicitations and are components of the framework for cybersecurity R&D called for in the President's Cyberspace Policy Review.

This event was the first in-depth review of these Federal cybersecurity R&D objectives and provided insights into the priorities that are shaping the direction of Federal research activities. For more information, visit

Other 2010 award winners included Jerome H. Saltzer, who won the National Computer Security Award; New York Times computer security specialist John Markoff, Carl Landwehr, and W. Douglas Maughan, who received Outstanding Community Service Awards. Landwehr also received an IEEE Computer Society Distinguished Service Award.

Best paper winners included:

Best Practical Paper sponsored by IEEE Security and Privacy Magazine:
Chip and PIN is Broken
Steven J. Murdoch, Saar Drimer, Ross Anderson, Mike Bond

Best Student Paper:
TaintScope: A Checksum-Aware Directed Fuzzing Tool for Automatic Software Vulnerability Detection
Tielei Wang (Peking University), Tao Wei (Peking University), Guofei Gu (Texas A & M University), Wei Zou (Peking University)

Best Paper:
SCiFI - A System for Secure Face Identification
Margarita Osadchy, Benny Pinkas, Ayman Jarrous, Boaz Moskovich (Univesity of Haifa)

More information about the IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy